Hooked By Me

My Crochet Journal

My Next Big Project

Although I’m still working on a top which has taken me almost 2 months to make, I’m already thinking about my next big project…. to make clothes and accessories for my local special care baby unit.

I know some people have knitted / crocheted baby clothes to donate to these units for years and I know its nothing new, but I just felt that I’d like to put these new skills I’ve learnt to good use.

After posting on the Ravelry Forum for advice on baby patterns and yarns, I decided to call the unit to find out if they have any specific rules about the kind of clothing they accept.The only thing which they said was that the yarns used should be machine washable and that anything made should be a close stitch, so that the babies don’t get fingers caught in holes.

I have also decided to treat the project as my first steps to designing. I will design a collection of different accessories or outfits based on a common theme. They will mostly be created from existing patterns, but will be adapted in places and have added embellishments where necessary.

So, watch this space and keep an eye on my progress 🙂

Leave a Reply

