Hooked By Me

My Crochet Journal

Vintage crochet patterns and fashion

When my Grandma heard that I had taken crochet up she sent me some patterns which she has had for years!

Among them are baby clothes patterns, doilies, bedspreads and fashion from the 60s / 70s….

20120501-211923.jpg

20120501-212055.jpg

20120501-212224.jpg

Then earlier this year my parents where clearing out their loft and found The Hamlyn Family Crochet Book, published in 1971 by Hamlyn Publishing Group Ltd, ISBN 0600334465 (author not specified). The book contains patterns for children’s and adults clothes as well as hand bags, accessories and household items. Some of the patterns I’m not likely to make as they’re no longer fashionable, however some of the patterns would fit in the modern day, especially with the vintage chic style which seems to be around a the moment.

For example, this pink coat is a timeless stylish piece. If I had the time to create this pattern, I would, however given that it’s taken me over two months to create a top where the stitch is no where near as close, I’m not sure if I’ll ever get round to making this. Maybe one day… (images reproduced with kind permission of Octopus Publishing Group).

20120505-171504.jpg

Likewise, I think any of the following dresses would hold their own in today’s fashion….

20120505-171748.jpg

20120505-171824.jpg

20120505-171907.jpg

Of course, some of the patterns are very reminiscent of the era such as these ABBA-style sets….

20120505-172035.jpg

…and one wonders whether some of the items were ever in style at all…

20120505-172130.jpg

Nevertheless I think there are more patterns in here which can be used today than not at all. I’m definitely going to have to try to create something… Maybe one of the hand bags…

20120505-172442.jpg

I’m interested to know what vintage patterns everyone else has tucked away. Maybe some styles that have made a come back? Maybe some that you’ve made recently or are planning on doing so!

6 comments on “Vintage crochet patterns and fashion

  1. J. G. Burdette
    May 5, 2012

    I made my own pattern for a cloche that was popular from around 1910 well into the 30s. It was also a favorite with the Flappers. You can find the pattern here if you are interested: http://byhookorbypen.wordpress.com

    • J6891
      May 5, 2012

      That is gorgeous! I may have to give that a go! I wish I’d have known earlier as I was in a production of the musical Me and My Girl in February and that would have been perfect for that!

  2. crochetime
    May 9, 2012

    What a brilliant find! I love the dresses. I bought a vintage pattern for a dress from the same Etsy seller that I bought the Sirdar summer tank top pattern, but just like you, it just seems like such a huuuuuge task. It would be lovely to say you crocheted a vintage dress, though! Or that pink coat….

    • J6891
      May 9, 2012

      I know, I may just have to give something a go but it’s taken me over two months to do this top already! Im in the mood for doing lots of smaller projects for now… But maybe in a while when I feel I’m ready to move onto something bigger I’ll tackle one of the dresses! My mum called tonight to say that shes found some more for me and that some of them were her Grandmas! May have to post those too!

  3. humbugbuttonbeetle
    May 14, 2012

    wow! These are amazing! I love the black and white dress and handbags! Beautiful x

    • J6891
      May 15, 2012

      Yes I really must give something vintage-style a go!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 1, 2012 by in Fashion, History, Vintage and tagged , , , , .
