Hooked By Me

My Crochet Journal

Inspiration: Charging what your crafts are worth

I’ve often wondered about selling crafts I make but have been put off by the fact that people seem to want something for nothing. I used to draw pet portraits but would often feel I couldn’t charge the true price I thought they were worth, despite each one taking me at least 20 – 30 hours to complete. I guess I just didn’t have the confidence.

I don’t really do much drawing these days and do my crochet instead, and so I have often wondered about crocheting small items to sell. One thing which puts me off however is the fear that people won’t pay the price that the item is worth. That was, until I read the following post:

http://dianespuppetsproducts.wordpress.com/2012/05/06/self-esteem-and-the-pricing-debate/

I strongly recommend that you read this truly inspirational post if you have ever felt the same as me. It will definitely encourage you to charge the true price for your work.

Also, I know this is off-topic as my blog is about crochet, but as I mentioned above that I used to do drawings and so I thought I’d share with you a couple of my favourite pieces that I am very proud of…

20120508-123940.jpg

This is probably my favourite drawing, it was a commission, and my only drawing with a background image… All my other drawings are set against white backgrounds.

20120508-123921.jpg

I know it’s not a pet but I drew this for my husbands father as a Christmas gift. The original image was taken by Colin Hines photography and is available under the GNU Free Documentation License and can be seen on wikimedia – http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Amur_Leopard_Pittsburgh_Zoo.jpg

12 comments on “Inspiration: Charging what your crafts are worth

  1. yellowlancer
    May 8, 2012

    No wonder you feel proud of them – they look terrific. Well done 🙂

    • J6891
      May 8, 2012

      Thank you very much 🙂

  2. knitnrun4sanity
    May 8, 2012

    I read that blog yesterday and agree that it is very good. Your pictures are amazing – you should have confidence in yourself.

    • J6891
      May 8, 2012

      Thank you. I do love my drawings, it’s just having the confidence to charge the amount that they’re really worth. I don’t really do them any more though, certainly not commissions. I may do some pieces that I ‘just fancy’ doing if you know what I mean and may sell them but I don’t think I’d do commissions as you’re then working to a deadline, which makes it a job, not a hobby.

      • knitnrun4sanity
        May 8, 2012

        I can see that but I guess you always have the option – you have a real talent 🙂

      • J6891
        May 8, 2012

        Yes this is true. And thank you 🙂

      • knitnrun4sanity
        May 8, 2012

        No worries 🙂

  3. Musings of a Stylista
    May 9, 2012

    Wow! I thought these were actual animals photographed at first glance… very well done!

  4. kidspartyheaven
    May 13, 2012

    Thanks so much for your feedback on my blog post. I’m truly humbled by the response this post received. I’ve never been called inspirational before… :/
    You should keep drawing. They’re phenomenal. xxxx

    • J6891
      May 14, 2012

      thank you. I guess it’s just having the motivation to get back into it again!

  5. Pingback: Vogue Knitting – Crochet Edition 2012 « Hooked By Me

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 8, 2012 by in General, Inspiration and tagged , , , , .
