Hooked By Me

My Crochet Journal

Dolce and Gabbana crocheted bag gets mixed reaction

The Dolce and Gabbana’s Miss Sicily crocheted bag has received mixed reactions on purseblog.com.

I’m not usually a big ‘granny square’ fan but I do like the black with bright colour combination – like the bag made on this post.

Personally, I’m not sure about the other patterns that the Miss Sicily has been combined with, I think they clash and give it the dated look which perhaps is what they’ve gone for. I think if the rest of the bag was black, or solid colours it would make it look more modern.

Maybe I will make a similar styled bag myself?!

What are your thoughts on this bag and ‘granny squares’ in general?

6 comments on “Dolce and Gabbana crocheted bag gets mixed reaction

  1. skin4men
    May 14, 2012

    man looks like something a hippy would hold…or a grannie!!

    haha yea you could make one yourself! LOL

  2. kidspartyheaven
    May 14, 2012

    Thank you so much for the comment on my bag! So glad you like it. I’m not a big fan of the granny square either but I’m very fond of bright colours. I trained as a fine artist and I have always loved combining the brightest of colours in a way that makes them sing.
    By the way, I’m a granny. What’s wrong with being a Granny? ( I’m 48) I think people forget that not all grannies are grey and out of style…

    • J6891
      May 14, 2012

      Yeh I think the bag you have made is great, especially as you repurposed it from the scarf! But the colourful granny square bordered with black is really growing on me. Must have to experiment with this myself. BTW agree with you on the granny comment!

  3. kidspartyheaven
    May 14, 2012

    Reblogged this on Diane gets Crafty and commented:
    Wow, my blog gets props! So exciting!

  4. J. G. Burdette
    May 14, 2012

    I’m not very partial to granny square bags either. But at the moment I am finishing up my own so I can sell it. There’s this wonderful pattern in the magazine Crochet!, don’t remember what issue.

    I think what throws me off on granny square bags is that much to much color most of the time. I like to aim for an elegant or simple look. But that’s just me.

    • J6891
      May 14, 2012

      Yes I agree sometimes granny squares can be made of too many colours and can look messy. I do really like the block colours surrounded by the black though! So going to have to add to my project list! This list is never ending!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 14, 2012 by in Fashion and tagged , , , , , , .
