Hooked By Me

My Crochet Journal

Harrogate Knitting and Stitching Show 2012

The 23rd of November 2012 saw me attend the Knitting and Stitching show in Harrogate.

As a Knitting and Stitching Show virgin I was excited to see what I could find at the show in terms of all things crochet. Yarns, patterns, tools and just general inspiration! Some specifics I had in mind included baby crochet patterns which are not gender-specific, yarn to make up those patterns, and a Tunisian crochet hook for my Gryffindor scarf!

I arrived with my Mum when the show opened at around 10am and was amazed to see the show was already buzzing with people rummaging through stalls, students taking pictures, and ladies which had those pull along shopping trollies – these guys are pros!

The first hall which we came to had a lot of exhibition work and we decided to look around one of the stands. Looking around the walls my mum noticed a couple of cross stitch pictures and immediately recognised them from Kirsty’s Handmade Britain. Those pictures were created by none other than Mr X Stitch:

Mr X Stitch Whitby Abbey

Mr X Stitch

We then met Mr X Stitch and he was delightful to chat to! A really friendly and approachable guy. For more about Mr X Stitch visit the mrxstitch.com website.

Further along we saw more exhibition pieces including knitted fashion, knitted wedding dresses and vintage style creations too…

20121129-125935.jpg

20121129-130009.jpg

20121129-130045.jpg

Of the above, my favourite is the flapper style dress, which doesn’t look great on the hanger, but the images of the fashion shoot alongside it showed the dress in all it’s glory! It truly is stunning work!

By far my most favourite exhibition piece was a black and silver knitted dress – which I didn’t even realise was knitted at first. It really was very beautiful and I would definitely wear this! The dress is by Cecilia Ajayi, an up and coming knitwear designer:

20121129-130655.jpg

20121129-130716.jpg

My pictures really do not do her work justice so I urge you to google her or visit her website. Unfortunately the website is not available on the iPad as it uses Flash.

If I’m completely honest I wasn’t impressed with the rest of the show. I was really hoping to find a crochet pattern to suit my needs however I didn’t find many crochet patterns at all which was disappointing. I also found that a lot of the stalls sold the same kind of thing – and was generally more expensive than my local yarn shop. I guess it depends what you’re looking for. I did find a Tunisian crochet hook, however and have since learned the Tunisian knit stitch and started my Gryffindor scarf!

I also found the show far too busy. In some cases you couldn’t get to any stalls to look at anything. All in all I won’t be in a rush to attend the show next year and would rather spend my money in my local yarn shops.

One comment on “Harrogate Knitting and Stitching Show 2012

  1. Jeyna Grace
    November 30, 2012

    The ones in the frame are awesome!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 29, 2012 by in General, Inspiration, Knitting and tagged , , , , , , .

Navigation

